Sales Excellence Project for a Leading European Wholesaler

Client Situation:

Profit margins per sales representative were too low throughout the organisation. Sales processes, objectives, and messages were not defined, sales areas were not designated, and the compensation structure was not performance-based. The client’s objective was to develop a new sales strategy, to reorganise the field and internal sales organisations, and to define (and subsequently introduce) best-practice sales processes. The compensation structure should be adapted to the new sales strategy.

Our Approach:

The project was rolled out in phases across major European countries. In each country, a fact base with the characteristics of all current and potential customers was created, and customers were segmented according to their needs. Sales areas were defined, and an external and internal sales organisation to serve the customer needs was designed.
Together with sales managers, individual performance objectives for each sales representative were defined, including a personalised action plan. CRM tools were implemented. The former revenue-based bonus scheme was turned into a profit-based compensation plan with a team component.
The business reduced its sales personnel drastically while significantly raising profitability.
The project was realised in close cooperation with the regional management, which ensured implementation.

Sales Excellence Projekt für einen führenden europäischen Großhändler

Situation des Klienten:

Die Ergebnismargen für die externen Vertriebsmitarbeiter waren zu niedrig. Die Vertriebsprozesse, -ziele und Kernaussagen waren nicht definiert, Vertriebsgebiete nicht geschnitten, und die Entlohnungsstruktur orientierte sich nicht am erzielten Ergebnis. Ziel war es, eine neue Vertriebsstrategie zu entwickeln, den externen und internen Vertrieb neu aufzustellen, Best-Practice-Prozesse zu definieren und einzuführen. Die Entlohnungsstruktur sollte an der Vertriebsstrategie ausgerichtet werden.

Vorgehen:

Das Projekt wurde zeitlich abgestuft in den größten europäischen Ländern ausgerollt.
In jedem Land wurde eine Faktenbasis mit den Charakteristika aller gegenwärtigen und potentiellen Kunden erstellt und nach Kundenbedürfnissen segmentiert. Vertriebsgebiete wurden auf dieser Basis neu geschnitten und die interne und externe Vertriebsorganisation neu strukturiert.
Zusammen mit dem Management wurden für jeden Vertriebsmitarbeiter individuelle Leistungsziele definiert und mit einem persönlichen Aktionsplan hinterlegt. Ein CRM-System wurde implementiert. Das frühere umsatzbasierte Bonusschema wurde durch ein ergebnisorientiertes mit Teamkomponente ersetzt.
Die Kundenprofitabilität wurde signifikant gesteigert und das Personal reduziert. Das Projekt wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem lokalen Management durchgeführt, was die Implementierung der Projektresultate sicherstellte.