Basic Innovation Management for a Leading Mechanical Engineering Company

Client’s Situation:

The client had a classical development department that continuously improved the existing product base by slowly adapting to technological change in cooperation with major customers.
Because of the slow pace of change, the client missed major technological trends. Although the company had a positive reputation, it suffered from inflexibility, and its products had a reputation for high quality but low usability. As a result, the company was losing market share continuously.

Our Approach:

In this project, we decided to gather market insight in the classical way—customer and expert interviews—in parallel with the innovative way—crowdsourcing and crowd evaluation processes. Each method had a short-term (1 year), a medium-term (4 years), and a long-term perspective (10 years). The results were compared step by step, with management evaluating the results and making the final decision about which results were most accurate. Both methods followed a four-step process:
  • 1. Definition of the enabling technologies, customer needs, and potential markets.
  • 2. Evaluation and ranking of the results.
  • 3. Definition of new products and their features based on step 1.
  • 4. Evaluation and ranking.

The crowdsourcing and crowd evaluation results differed significantly from the expert opinions, which showed a significant bias to the professional specialisation.
At the end, a list of short-term product improvements with significant customer value was generated. A complete medium-term product, technology, and market road map was defined, and a 10-year outlook was provided.
A new organisation had to be set up, an M&A plan and an HR concept for the acquisition of some new core technologies and people had to be established.
Because major ideas—both incremental as well as breakthrough innovations—came out of the crowdsourcing process, an innovation process with strong crowd support was installed. The company strategy was changed from quality leadership to innovation leadership, and the aspiration for high quality was retained.

Innovationsmanagement für einen Maschinenbauer

Situation des Klienten:

Der Klient hatte eine klassische Entwicklungsabteilung, in der die Produkte kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt wurden; neue Technologien wurden langsam integriert, Kundenwünsche aus Kundenworkshops berücksichtigt.
Trotzdem wurden wesentliche technische Trends verpasst, das Unternehmen und die Produkte des Unternehmens hatten den Ruf von hoher Qualität verbunden mit Inflexibilität und niedriger Bedienerfreundlichkeit. Der Marktanteil des Unternehmens ging stetig zurück.

Vorgehen:

Es wurde entschieden, die klassische Vorgehensweise von Kunden und Experteninterviews mit der innovativeren Methode von Crowd Sourcing und Crowd Evaluation zu parallelisieren. In beiden Fällen wurde eine kurzfristige (1 Jahr), eine mittelfristige (4 Jahre) und eine langfristige (10 Jahre) Perspektive erarbeitet. Die Resultate beider Prozesse wurden verglichen, die endgültige Entscheidung über die Bewertung der sich teilweise widersprechenden Resultate wurde vom Management getroffen.
Beide Vorgehensweisen folgten dem nachstehenden Prozess:
  • Bestimmung von „Enabling“ Technologien, Kundenbedürfnissen und potentiellen Märkten
  • Bewerten der Resultate
  • Bestimmung von neuen Produkten, Produktmerkmalen basierend auf Schritt 1.
  • Bewertung der Resultate

Die Resultate basierend auf Crowd Sourcing und Crowd Evaluation unterschieden sich signifikant von den Expertenmeinungen, die immer eine gewisse Vorliebe für die individuelle Spezialisierung erkennen ließen.
Als Projektresultat wurde eine Liste mit kurzfristig realisierbaren Produktverbesserungen mit signifikantem Kundennutzen, eine mittelfristige Produkt-/Technologie-/Markt-Roadmap und ein 10-Jahres-Ausblick erstellt.
Die bestehende Organisation wurde angepasst. Es wurde ein M&A-Plan und ein HR-Konzept für die Akquisition von neuen Kerntechnologien und neuen Mitarbeitern mit technologiekritischem Know-how erstellt.
Weil wesentliche Innovationen aus dem Crowd-Sourcing-Prozess kamen, wurde ein Innovationsprozess mit starker Einbindung der Crowd installiert.
Die Unternehmensstrategie wurde von „Qualitätsführerschaft“ in „Innovationsführerschaft“ geändert. Der hohe Qualitätsanspruch wurde beibehalten.